Margaret M. Smith and her boys - Bob, Jim, George, Charles, and Gene.

Margaret M. Smith and her boys – Bob, Jim, George, Charles, and Gene.

I saw this picture as I was going through my files yesterday and just had to post it.  It shows my Grandma Smith and “her boys” at my mom and dad’s wedding.  When grandma, Margaret M. Neville Conroy Smith, and grandpa, John Albert Smith, were married in 1920, their family became a “his, hers, and ours” type of family, with a total of 13 children.  My dad and his brothers were the “ours” part of the family: Robert E. (1922-1995), James C. (1923-1987), George H. (1925-1968), Charles M. (1927-1969), and M. Gene (1929-1977).  I remember walking down the street in my dad’s hometown as a kid, and people saying, “You’re a Smith. I don’t know who you belong to, but you’re a Smith”.  What a sense of family belonging, even as a young child.

