Amy Ruth Harper Taylor
1907

Every day I sit down at my computer and look up to see my Grandma Taylor watching over me. Her photo sits on the shelf just above my computer, next to all my genealogy books, to remind me that she was a driving influence in my passion for family history research.

For years she was the unofficial “family historian”–gathering names, dates, and other tidbits on hers and Grandpa’s families. Much of the information was written on loose scraps of paper, saved within a large manila envelope.  She exchanged letters with cousins to gather information to add to her stash.  As a child, I would ask to look at her papers and was always fascinated by the family with 15 children and two sets of twins (my grandma’s grandparents).

Grandma didn’t “do” genealogy like I do…she collected family history.  She didn’t use family group sheets or pedigree charts, she didn’t know what a source citation was, and she didn’t research at libraries or repositories.  She just collected.  I couldn’t be more grateful for that.  I have spent many, many hours documented and sourcing Grandma’s information.  Guess what?  About 95% of it is spot on accurate.  Thank you, Grandma.  I am happy to carry on your love for family history.  It is a labor of love for you, and for my grandchild too.

